Reviews

On February 8, 2016, Vice posted my interview with Álvaro Enrigue about his new novel Sudden Death (translated by Natasha Wimmer).

On December 31, 2014, Proustitute posted a very brief thing I wrote about Jens Bjørneboe’s “The History of Bestiality” trilogy.

On December 18, 2014, the Brooklyn Rail posted and printed an ~2K-word review I contributed entitled Warm Core: The Unusually Associative Cyclonic System of Ben Lerner’s 10:04

On December 8, 2014, 3AM Magazine posted a review called More Than That: Contemporary Complexity in Mathias Énard’s Street of Thieves

On July 21, 2014, the London-based 3AM Magazine posted an essay/review called Literary Citizenship Depletes Crystal Count and Other Controversial Claims. As noted in the title, I intended for some of what I wrote to be a bit controversial — and it was! This essay/review also included Tweet embeds and a magic-eye pic.

I contributed a ~2K-word review of Karl Ove Knausgaard’s My Struggle Book Three posted by the Philadelphia Review of Books on April 24, 2014.

I contributed ~4K words on Karl Ove Knausgaard’s My Struggle Book Two and ~3K words on Owen King’s Double Feature to the Philadelphia Review of Books on May 23, 2013 and March 20, 2013, respectively — not to mention ~1.5K on Rudolph Wurlitzer’s Slow Fade on January 16, 2013.

Impressions of David Foster Wallace’s The Pale King appeared in the form of a workshop-type response in the summer 2011 issue of The Lifted Brow. Not online.

Otherwise, since 2007, I’ve posted 500+ quick and usually brief impressions of books (95% novels) on Goodreads. Here’s my profile. (Note: GR, despite now being owned by Amazon, is the only social media site I really check daily and the only one I’ve never considered quitting.)